ABC Content Board

The abc of trending content

Canadian teams well represented among NHL Award nominees – NHL on CBC Sports

Six out of the seven Canadian teams will have at least one member of their organization up for an award on Wednesday night (8 p.m. ET) at the NHL Awards in Las Vegas.

Of all the teams with a stake in the awards night, the Edmonton Oilers are up for the most with three, which doesn’t included Connor McDavid securing the Art Ross Trophy for scoring the most points in the regular season (100). McDavid is also a heavy favourite to take home the Hart Trophy as league MVP.

Calgary, Edmonton, Montreal, Toronto and Winnipeg will all have chance at the spotlight.

Here’s a look at each of the teams’ hopefuls:

Calgary Flames

Lady Byng Trophy (most sportsmanlike): Johnny Gaudreau
Mark Messier Leadership Award: Mark Giordano

Gaudreau saw his goal scoring fall off a bit last season, but then, so did his penalty minutes. He just took two minor penalties in 72 games played, all while putting up 61 points, so he has to be considered a strong contender for the Lady Byng. The last Flame to win most gentlemanly player? Jiri Hudler in 2014-15.

Two-time all-star Giordano has been a mainstay on Calgary’s blue-line for nearly a decade and has been nominated for the Mark Messier leadership award. No Flame has ever won the award, though it’s worth noting that the it was only introduced in 2007, when it was won by Chris Chelios.

​Edmonton Oilers

Art Ross Trophy (scoring leader): Connor McDavid
Hart Trophy (league MVP): Connor McDavid​
Jack Adams (coach of the year): Todd MacLellan
GM of the Year: Peter Chiarelli

With McDavid already having locked up the Art Ross, he has a strong case to win the Hart Trophy as well. Perhaps if voting on the award could have been extended into the playoffs, Sidney Crosby would hold the edge for this one, but McDavid also had his moments for the Oilers in the post-season. The last Oiler to win the Hart was Mark Messier in 1990, and the last to win the Art Ross was Wayne Gretzky in 1987.

While McDavid gets most of the…

Read the full article from the Source…

Back to Top