ABC Content Board

The abc of trending content

Sada El Balad: Badger Facts

Check out our range of fun badger facts. Learn what a group of badgers is called، what they eat، how many species of badgers there are and much more. Read on and enjoy a variety of interesting information about badgers.

Badgers are part of the family Mustelidae this is the same family as otters، ferret، polecats، weasels and wolverines.

There are 11 species of badger، grouped into 3 types، the Melinae (Eurasian badgers)، Mellivorinae (Honey badger) and Taxideinae (American badger).

Badgers are found in North America، Ireland، Great Britain and most of Europe. There are species in Japan، China، Indonesia and Malaysia. The honey badger is found in sub-Saharan Africa، the Arabian Desert، Turkmenistan، and India.

Badgers are nocturnal mammals.

Badgers have stocky bodies with short legs that are suitable for digging. They digs burrows underground called a sett. Their sett are often a maze of tunnels and chambers for sleeping around 6 badgers، setts are kept very clean.

The badger has an elongated head with small ears and a distinctive black and white face، their body has greyish fur with black and white areas underneath.

Badgers can grow to nearly a meter in length. The European badger is larger than the American badger and the Honey badger.

Badgers on average weigh around 9 – 11 kg (20 – 24 lbs).

The badger can run up to 30 kmh (19 mph) for a short period of time.

A male badger is called a boar، the female is called a sow and the young are called cubs.

A group of badgers is called a cete، although they are often called clans. There are usually 2 – 15 badgers in a cete.

The honey badger is a carnivorous species that has the reputation of being the most fearless and vicious of all…

Read the full article from the Source…

Back to Top